Not those exact words, but close enough.

Today’s Daily Prompt is: When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

I don’t think I’ve had anyone recently just come up and say “I’m so PROUD of you.” Usually the praise I recieve is something along the lines of “Look how well you’re doing for yourself.” or “You’ve come so far since a couple of years ago.” It’s okay because I know what they mean by these types of things. They ARE proud of me. They’re glad I’m not such a looser anymore. They’re glad I’m not hitting them up for money, or a place to stay, or an auto to drive.  Not that I’ve ever been that big of a looser (except that 6 months of unemployment). I’ve just been dealt some really REALLY crappy situations.  And for as much as I’ve tried to dig out from under the pile of shit, it just became harder and harder.  It didn’t help that I suffered from depression and anxiety and who knows what else. (since high school although not diagnosed until later) Between 1998 & 2001 were my worst. I’ve had small bouts of issues, looking something like an ex-boyfriend in 2006, that took me a WHILE to overcome. But as of today I’m on a great path and my well-being is significantly better over the last 4 years.

However, I tell my kids I’m proud of them, especially when they overcome something or do something “adult” on their own.  Trying to teach them it’s okay to make mistakes, but learning from them is what makes them not a failure.  It’s a tough transition from teenager to adult, and my son is living it right now.  I know it’s rough for him and I understand that.  I try to encourage him without being a nag or harping on him.

5 thoughts on “Not those exact words, but close enough.

  1. lol. We really appreciate your share on thoughts. I think we both been through the same thing over the years involving family & that’s fine cause it only makes you strive 2 become so much more. Keep up the outstanding work & continue 2 remain positive. Yep!

    Peace!…with 2 fingers;)

Say What?