Seeds

I finally broke down and picked up some starter kids and seeds for the container gardening I’m doing this summer.  I planted 50 little “pots” 5 each of cherry tomatoes, beefsteak tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, summer squash, peas, lettuce, and radishes. I planted 10 peas & still have a package of sunflower seeds to do something with. 🙂

I hope most of them take & sprout. It’ll be a challenge to find a pot for everything but maybe I’ll pawn some off on my neighbors.  I’m also thinking about doing a free standing potato planting. But that would require chicken wire or fencing style stuff, hay and a 5 gallon bucket. Got the bucket but not the wire, hay or seed potatoes yet.

I’d like to get some rich soil off a cow pasture for these plantings, because I know that would produce EXCESSIVE amounts of food for the summer. More so than just potting soil.

As I look around the internet about container gardening I noticed that planting carrots often is a good idea.  And multiple types of lettuce is also good. I’ll probably pick up carrots & more lettuce to plant in a few weeks.

I haven’t even thought about herbs. I tend to kill them. Which is sad. Some day I would love to have an herb garden out my kitchen door for fresh herbs for cooking. Along with some beautiful cutting flowers.

I’ll take some photos once they start sprouting and share with you.  Wish me luck.

7 thoughts on “Seeds

  1. I wish you luck! 🙂 I also have to say I LOVE your typo in the first line–that you picked up some “starter kids and seeds”–because plants ARE like kids, but with a little less long-term commitment!

    1. I have one sunny window & the cats like to use it, the always knock stuff off the table there. I will try again, but with seedlings from a good greenhouse this time. thanks.

Say What?

