Sabrina

Which Sabrina movie do you like better?

I finally watched the original Sabrina (1954) with Humphrey Bogart, Audrey Hepburn, & William Holden. It was good.  The only one I had seen was the one from 1995 with Harrison Ford, Julia Ormond, & Greg Kinnear. I liked both of them equally.

There’s a conversation between David & Linus in the office that I found worthy enough to spark this blog post. I found it while searching the web. (it’s good for more than Facebook & blogging. Ha-ha-ha)

A conversation in the 1954 Sabrina between Linus & David Larabee in Linus’s office. David found out he’s been slated to marry Miss Elizabeth Tyson the daughter of the 2nd largest holdings of sugar cane in Puerto Rico. (An arranged marriage for business.)

Then you marry her.

– Me?

What’s so funny?

If I got married, I’d have to take a Dictaphone, two secretaries and four corporation counsellors along on the honeymoon.I’d be unfaithful to my wife every night with vice presidents, boards of directors, slide-rule accountants… This… this is my home. No wife would ever understand it.

Nor me.

You’ve got all the money in the world.

Making money isn’t the main point of business. Money is a by-product.

– What’s the main objective? Power?

– Ah! That’s become a dirty word.

What’s the urge? You’re going into plastics. What will that prove?

Prove? Nothing much. A new product has been found, something of use to the world. A new industry moves into an undeveloped area. Factories go up, machines go in and you’re in business. It’s coincidental that people who’ve never seen a dime now have a dollar and barefooted kids wear shoes and have their faces washed. What’s wrong with an urge that gives people libraries, hospitals, baseball diamonds and movies on a Saturday night?

This last bit is what gets me. No one thinks like that. Has everyone ever thought like that? The whole conversation was so… what’s the word I’m looking for? I don’t know.  Epic, no, inspiring, sort of.  I don’t recall there being such a conversation in the 1995 version and it’s not on Netflix so I haven’t been able to watch it.

Say What?

