First Friday

Friday I unexpectedly decided to go to Portland to the First Friday Art Walk. I met up with a couple of friends and we wondered the very busy streets of Portland’s down town. As usual I was inspired with ideas to create, but I was also a little confused as to what/why some people thought some stuff was “art”.

I’m reminded of a quote from Mona Lisa Smile.
Betty Warren: Art isn’t art until someone says it is.
Katherine Watson: It’s art!
Betty Warren: The right people.
Katherine Watson: And who are they?

What is pleasing to some is not always pleasing to others. I’m sure my art doesn’t appeal to everyone. I don’t suspect or anticipate it would. I was a tad confused by some of the art.

It was a good time though. It was nice to catch up with my friends and see them. It’s been too many months.

Say What?

