Preping for NaNo

Huh?  For those who don’t know what NaNoWriMo is follow the link. (be mindful of #5 & 9.3333) The short of it is… a month (November) is dedicated to writing a 50,000 word novel. (plot doesn’t matter – just get the words down in some sort of sense)

This year I’m going to attempt to be a “Planner” instead of a “Pantser”. Plan it all out with character names & backgrounds all set, plot guidelines & twists planned. Unlike last time where I just kind of winged it, or wrote by the seat of my pants.  I have 21 days to plan our my novel and then start writing on Nov 1st and see how much my characters can screw up my plans.

It’s been my dream since 6th grade (198-huhm) to write a book.  I’ve started MANY and never got very far with most.  One I did invest lots of time in to and worked on it from 1991 until about 1996 or so.  Still uncompleted. Back then we didn’t have sky drives or such to save work on, you’d save it to the hard drive & back it up to a floppy 3.5 disk. Somewhere in my collection of disks is my most completed story to date, but damned if I can get to it. (kind of sad)

Most of my stories have a female main character with a romantic interest and some type of conflict.  Occasionally I add supernatural or thriller type plots in to the mix.  Recently though I haven’t gotten far enough in to a story.  Get through the meet & greet part and not much further.  One of the hardest things I find is naming my characters.

I also need to learn to just write. Don’t re-read my writing until the end. After Nov 30th. Just write until I get to 50k. Make sense of it later.  I have that problem when I blog too. I re-read & edit too much OR I do the opposite and ramble on and don’t edit. Like this post. 😉

Say What?

