Presidential roulette

I recently became aware that we have several more choices for president than just the BO & Mittens. (Not nicknames I gave them.)  There are other candidates who are not permitted to debate. Someone explain to me why only Obama & Romney are the only two?  And while you’re explaining that, someone else tell me why we only still currently have two primary political parties?

*NOTE* I spent over 2 hours researching and writing this blog post and saving the draft only to have WordPress throw an error and loose half of it. Learned my lesson.

Something else that is bugging me is that message going around about Obama’s 923 Executive Orders, which is totally bull.  I checked Snopes, Fact Check, as well as the US gov’t archives. I’m sure there are some EOs that were signed that are probably a bone of contention for several people.  I have yet had the time to go through all of these EOs to see what they’re about. Feel free to check them out & let me know what strikes you as the most objectionable.

I was checking out some of the other people listed as candidates on the Politics1 website.  I’m not judging their capability based on their website, but damn some of those sites really suck. Others look like they over spent.  Put a good easy site up that is pulled together and maybe someone will stay to read about you & your views.  Digging deeper in to some of these candidate’s sites I find they’re not supportive of gay rights, abortion, planned parenting, & diversity(race). To be blunt I find them down right archaic ways of thinking. In a world where things are moving fast (sometimes too fast) and people are growing, educating themselves, and finding out things quicker, thinking out of a century old idea is not beneficial to the best interest of the United States and it’s people.

* I had gone on to discuss the founding of this country, that our government gives us the opportunity to have it grow and evolve with it’s people.  That the constitution and the deceleration of independence are worth reading. I also found Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala the most desirable because their take on the issues were the best choice for me and why.

Definition of DEMOCRACY

1 a : government by the people; especially :rule of the majority  b : a government in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised by them directly or indirectly through a system of representation usually involving periodically held free elections
2 : a political unit that has a democratic government
3 capitalized : the principles and policies of the Democratic party in the United States <from emancipation Republicanism to New Deal Democracy — C. M. Roberts>
4 : the common people especially when constituting the source of political authority
5 : the absence of hereditary or arbitrary class distinctions or privileges
As a side note since this is a blog about Maine…. We have four candidates on our ballot.  Per the Kennebec Journal Newspaper
Four candidates are on the Maine ballot: Gary Johnson (Libertarian), Barack Obama (Democrat), Mitt Romney (Republican) and Jill Stein (Green Independent).

Say What?

