Procrastination… at its best

I started off NaNo a bit slow.  I found my story idea in a binder of stories that I’ve started and never finished.  Yet I’ve procrastinated my whole week long vacation. I’ve spent a week off from work and only wrote maybe 15% of the time.  The rest of the time I ran errands, shopped for food for Thanksgiving, cleaned the house, blogged, put the tree up, watched movies, countless other things that wasn’t writing.  Some of these have been self inflicted and a few were just commitments I had to do.  I’ve stalled my momentum.

Today is my last day of vacation before returning to work.  This will give me a week to write 35000 words. I’m f’n crazy. I’ve always wanted to write a novel. But it seem every time I go to do such a thing I get to caught up with the characters to even get to the story line.  I think the most words I’ve ever put to one story was a story I started in high school and worked on for about 5 to 7 years without having an ending in mind.  Or a plot, or a story line, or much of anything.  It was just a lot of teenage drama.  Basically mimicking my friend’s lives. Each character had aspects of people I knew.  So yet again here I am about 15000 words in to a story, that I do have a plot for, but can’t figure out how to tie everything together.  I started out at the “beginning” but I also jumped around because the beginning wasn’t really the beginning. Most of what I wrote is flashbacks.

Yet here I am writing a blog post about NaNo when I could/should be writing.
I wait for my son to call so I can drive him back to college. (Nice it’s only an hour away.)

2 thoughts on “Procrastination… at its best

    1. Thanks. I doubt I’ll pull it off. But I’m going to give it a good honest effort. I figured it out exactly, I have 32951 words to go, so that would be 6591 words a night give or take a quarter of a word. LOL

      So I’m checking out this award thing & it seems interesting.

Say What?

