Fitness Lecture: Week #2

This week we talked about NEAT.  What is NEAT? NEAT is Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis. Yeah that doesn’t help you out does it? (I spelled it correctly too.)  Basically it is the energy we use for everything we do that is not sleeping, eating or sports-like exercise.  To clear it up for you even more it is, tying your shoes, walking from your car to the store, or using the stairs. To increase NEAT during the day, park further away, take the stairs & not the elevator, take a walk at lunch, or standing while working.

Have you ever heard that “Your office chair is hazardous to your health”? I’ve converted my work station in to a sit stand station. I have a tall stool chair that I can sit on when needed, but lately I’ve found I prefer to stand.  I feel like I accomplish more and don’t feel like I’m going to fall asleep half the time.

There’s lots of ways to work NEAT in to your daily life.  Use two baskets instead of a cart, park further from the door, stand at the kid’s practice or games, take a walk before or after your meal when you dine out, and avoid elevators, sitting for longer than 30 minutes, & driving to your mail box.  My mail box is on my building, but if I lived in the country this would work. 🙂

 

Say What?

