100th post

I’ve been wracking my brain as to what to write for my 100th post for about two weeks now. I know I’m making a bigger deal about it than it really is.  I figured it out while shoveling snow.  Recap & reflection of 2012 and goals of 2013.

What happened this past year? In January I got my dog back which was very helpful to me, however in April I had to put her down due to cancer. In May I was offered another apartment with more space and in June I moved. July I got accepted in to the ME FIRST program at work. In August I turned another year closer to 40 and went camping in the rain for a week. (that was fun – NOT) I figured out in September that I didn’t really care about what other people thought before, so why should I start now, even though I felt slighted.  In October we had an earthquake that was quite strong, but that’s not about me. However I did start feeling the “empty nest” feeling, now that both kids drive & can come & go as they choose. NaNoWriMo came around in November and I made an attempt at it, but yet again failed.  I even had a decent story line for it.  Realizing how hard it is to transition between my creative & analytical sides now, is kind of depressing. In December I wanted to do a project called “reverb12” which is basically a journaling project, but that didn’t go very well.  Along with the art journal project from Lil Blue Boo, I failed on both of those.  I also had minor surgery in December called endometrial ablasion, where they burn of a layer off the inside of my uterus. It went very well and should help. However I’ve been slacking off with my nutrition and getting my ass moving and I have been feeling it, for about three weeks.  I need to get back to it.  So that’s the short of it.  Looking back on this year there have been a lot of things going on for me. To sum it up in one word would be hard.

Looking forward to next year I’m reminded of a post I recently read that the very last paragraph said: “As I said, you can blame the whole world for your problems and setbacks, but there comes a point where the only one holding you back is yourself.” from So, what do I think? by Alyx.  It really made me think.  I am the only one holding my self back, now.  In the past I have always been waiting, waiting for the kids, or a partner, or friends, or family, but that’s not really what I was waiting on, it was me.  No more waiting.

Goals for 2013: (I may add to this over the next week)

  • Read 1 book a month (at least 1 non-fiction this year)
  • Walk at least a mile a day no matter what
  • Drink more water
  • Continue to be aware (mindful) of my consumption of food (eating less processed foods & more natural whole foods)
  • Find a new bank friendly to rebuilding my credit
  • Keep my bills current (not hard I have only 5)
  • Organize & unload my STUFF (to make moving in 2014/15 easier)
  • Draw daily
  • Journal daily
  • Blog weekly
  • Send cards/letters more often
  • Possibly get part time job (to make up for the federal tax) to help build savings.
  • Get my passport, just in case
  • Shoot a gun
  • make a quilt
  • learn to knit / crochet better

(re-posted on my fitness blog also)

Say What?

