Living in Maine’s 100th post

Because this relates to my goals in ME FIRST also, I’ve reposted my 100th post from Living in Maine.

I’ve been wracking my brain as to what to write for my 100th post for about two weeks now. I know I’m making a bigger deal about it than it really is.  I figured it out while shoveling snow.  Recap & reflection of 2012 and goals of 2013.

What happened this past year? In January I got my dog back which was very helpful to me, however in April I had to put her down due to cancer. In May I was offered another apartment with more space and in June I moved. July I got accepted in to the ME FIRST program at work. In August I turned another year closer to 40 and went camping in the rain for a week. (that was fun – NOT) I figured out in September that I didn’t really care about what other people thought before, so why should I start now, even though I felt slighted.  In October we had an earthquake that was quite strong, but that’s not about me. However I did start feeling the “empty nest” feeling, now that both kids drive & can come & go as they choose. NaNoWriMo came around in November and I made an attempt at it, but yet again failed.  I even had a decent story line for it.  Realizing how hard it is to transition between my creative & analytical sides now, is kind of depressing. In December I wanted to do a project called “reverb12” which is basically a journaling project, but that didn’t go very well.  Along with the art journal project from Lil Blue Boo, I failed on both of those.  I also had minor surgery in December called endometrial ablasion, where they burn of a layer off the inside of my uterus. It went very well and should help. However I’ve been slacking off with my nutrition and getting my ass moving and I have been feeling it, for about three weeks.  I need to get back to it.  So that’s the short of it.  Looking back on this year there have been a lot of things going on for me. To sum it up in one word would be hard.

Looking forward to next year I’m reminded of a post I recently read that the very last paragraph said: “As I said, you can blame the whole world for your problems and setbacks, but there comes a point where the only one holding you back is yourself.” from So, what do I think? by Alyx.  It really made me think.  I am the only one holding my self back, now.  In the past I have always been waiting, waiting for the kids, or a partner, or friends, or family, but that’s not really what I was waiting on, it was me.  No more waiting.

Goals for 2013: (I may add to this over the next week)

  • Read 1 book a month (at least 1 non-fiction this year)
  • Walk at least a mile a day no matter what
  • Drink more water
  • Continue to be aware (mindful) of my consumption of food (eating less processed foods & more natural whole foods)
  • Find a new bank friendly to rebuilding my credit
  • Keep my bills current (not hard I have only 5)
  • Organize & unload my STUFF (to make moving in 2014/15 easier)
  • Draw daily
  • Journal daily
  • Blog weekly
  • Possibly get part time job (to make up for the federal tax) to help build savings.
  • Get my passport, just in case
  • Shoot a gun

(re-posted on my fitness blog also)

One thought on “Living in Maine’s 100th post

  1. Set your goals to a reasonable expectation. If you put too much on your “to do” list, you will only let your self down by not completing it. Set small goals that can be met more often. 🙂

Say What?

