Happy B-Day to me :-) by LAA

So a few months ago I found a 5K to be held on my birthday with the proceeds used to benefit breast cancer research.    It was located in Belfast so I asked my sister if she wanted to join me.  She was a little apprehensive at first but quickly agreed.  I registered us as a couple – The Stevens Sistas.

I woke up to a warm sunny day ready to run!  I picked my sister up and we headed for Belfast.  We arrived to a swarm of pink.  The energy was high!  As we headed for the registration desk we were both a little intimidated by some of the more experienced runners stretching and warming up around us.  My sister seemed a little nervous saying she has never run more than 1 mile at a time and that I should just run ahead of her if she needed to walk.  I told her that we would take it one step at a time and see how it goes.

We all lined up at the starting line as the organizer announced we had record attendance and raised nearly $4,000.00.  What a great feeling to have contributed to this cause.  We started out jogging a slow steady pace.  The trail was well marked and families were cheering us on from their front lawns.  Some were playing music, others were offering free water, but all were very encouraging and entertaining.  Before we knew it we were at the 2 ½ mile marker.

I said “guess what Ang. You have officially run more than one mile.  How do you feel?”

She said “I feel great.”

I then said “ Look, there is the finish line.  Let’s push it!”

At that point my sister starts sprinting to the finish line and I can hardly keep up.  I follow her trying to give words of encouragement while my breath becomes more labored.  She flys through the finish line and gives me a BIG hug.  Her words exactly “Thank you so much.  This has been on my bucket list for so long.  I feel great!”

All the way home we were chatting about our next adventure together….should it be biking, swimming, hiking….the options are limitless.

BEST BIRTHDAY EVA!

 

Say What?

