Back on the trail

I’ve been a little overwhelmed this past 9 months and I’ve been trying to take care of myself.  A cold winter stuck in the house and a minor slip and fall has kept me off the icky muddy trails. However my chiropractor & doctor have basically said I can get back to it.  They both are encouraging me to participate in the training for a 5k coming up in June.

The rest of the balloons will be going out in the next couple of months.  I won’t be able to do the Twilight Downeast get together though just due to the timing and distance.  I hope to get to the Capitol Improvement gathering. I apparently have a stamp to re-carve because it’s been lost, Papa Smurf.

I’ve been thinking a lot about boxes I put out.  I’m finding that as much as I LOVE to see the log books most of them end up wet/damp and smudged. I may not use log books any more for the plants I put out.  It would save space, the container wouldn’t need to be as big, and I could hide them easier. I still am not 100% sure, it may be a mixture in the future. Some with & some without.  I have a lot of maintenance to do this year.

4 thoughts on “Back on the trail

  1. A slip and fall is never fun – been there myself. Glad to hear that you can get back to it, especially now that winter is leaving. And glad to see you back on the blog! 😉 Good luck!

    1. Thanks. I love this hobby and I enjoy it quite a bit but sometimes I think I jump in to the deep end and then just need some time off from it. (I’m like that with lots of things, not just LB)

  2. Try a stamp-only hide and see how you feel about it. It would definitely cut down on the maintenance issues. I have one stamp-only hide, no container. It’s a carved stamp with an earth magnet attached to the back of the rubber. I enjoy having it but it hasn’t made me want to plant only stamp-only letterboxes. There are several letterboxers in my area that have stamp-only letterboxes but none have chosen to plant only logless letterboxes.

    Regarding the messy water-soaked logbooks – I use either authentic Lock & Lock brand boxes or peanut butter jars with very good results.

    P.S. Sorry to hear about your fall but glad to hear that you’re ready to tackle the great outdoors again.

    1. Thank you. I look forward to getting back out.

      Usually the problem with the log books is because someone didn’t properly repackage & hide it properly. I just lost Papa Smurf because of that. (I highly doubt it was because of animals.)

      I think there’s always options. I’ve got an idea for another series that would work well on the Rail Trail on the Kennebec river, because they would be micro stamps with only one log book. It’s still in the thought process stages so we’ll see. Especially since there’s a project to plant in Augusta this spring.

Say What?

