Am I Crazy?

That’s a loaded question, I know.

Soon, by next June, I’ll be a mother of two college students. It will be a HUGE change for me.  My kids and I get a long very well and enjoy each others company. Sending them off to college to do their own thing is going to be a bit sad and nerve-wracking for me.  I already tried this with my son. We have the next year to get him in shape for college again by sending him to the community college here in town. Then hopefully by the time his sister is ready in the fall of 2014 he will be too.

Anyways, I have the next year to declutter my life from all the extra shit I have accumulated over the past few years. I have very few things that I’m attached to and what better way of earning some cash than to have a lawn sale or several. 🙂   On the list of items to be sold is my dinning room table, my drawing desk, a computer desk, lots of scrapbooking items, and other arts & crafts stuff.  The goal is to reduce my stuff so I can live in a 20×10 foot tiny house.

studyplan-slides-lusby_1024x1024I’m looking in to Tumbleweed Tiny Houses. So far I like the Lusby Plan best. However I’m not eliminating the option of designing my own. My biggest concerns with living in a tiny house is the lack of hot water. However if it is semi permanent than I could have an out building/shed that would provide better options for heat/water. I have an idea of where I’d like to put the home while I save up to build a more permanent home. I do still like the option of it being portable, even if I’m not moving it.

02_Luby_Truck_1024x1024

It seems a bit radical to live in such a small space, I agree. However I think it will be very economical considering the cost of housing and the overly large homes that are being created.  I agree with an article I read that said larger homes give less of an opportunity for a family to be a family.  Everyone can escape to their own “cave” and ignore each other.  We’ve been guilty of that even in the small two bedroom apartment we had.  My reasoning behind doing this in the future is basically because it will be just me.  Yes I know kids come home from college.  I look at this as a temporary situation to further my financial stability to eventually build the home I’d like.  Which is moderately sized, but half of it is garage space, read about it here.

What are you willing to give up to change your life style?  What’s the craziest/radical idea you’ve had to change your life?

3 thoughts on “Am I Crazy?

  1. We are currently in a similar situation, we were one of many Americans to loose their home to foreclosure but instead of dwelling on our mistakes, so we’ve decided to take the opportunity to downsize and simplify our lives.

    We are moving from our home of 12 years of almost 2000 sq ft to a living space of about 750 sq ft with the hopes of owning our own homestead mortgage free within 2 to 5 years. We have looked at Park Models to shed and even a pole barn converted with living space.

    Great post and I look forward to your updates.

    1. That’s a big adjustment. I’m a bit nervous about it. I may not be able to do what I want, depending on the restrictions in the town I’m looking to move to. I’d be intrested in hearing more about your journey.

      1. Yeah, the restrictions are baffling, we live in the country and plan on settling in the same county. I checked with the zoing and in some townships you can live in whatever you want but in most you have to have 750 sq ft dwelling. In the cities it is much worse to be able to live how you want to live. Good luck and as I said I will be looking forward to your updates.

Say What?

