Writing on demand

I’m sure people have talked about this subject before, but when you write for the pleasure of writing, like I do, you kind of wing it.  However when I’m given a request to write for a specific or even unspecific reason but a due date…. I can’t think of ONE darn thing to write about.  

I thought this was going to be easier, as I’m use to writing. I’ve written papers for college classes with little problems, usually doing pretty well. However this time, because I started this month-long Maximize your Blog workshop all my ideas have fled my brain. I fear this will be the case for the other workshop I’d like to take and also for NaNoWriMo coming up in November.  

I’ve taken to carrying a journal with me for notes on blog post ideas, novel ideas, photography, art, and basically anything creative that comes to mind.  But since I started bringing it with me I haven’t put anything in it. It’s very discouraging.  

I’ve read various blogs and articles about writing, writing prompts, and such but nothing has clicked with me. I cannot seem to pull something out of nothing.  Even though I’ve been praised for doing just that before.  It really makes you think about what you have to say and how worthy it is to someone else or even yourself.  A whole plethora of questions comes to mind when I contemplate writing…  Is this what I really want to do?  Do I want to do enough of this to get paid for it? Will I do it well enough to get paid for it? Is this just a hobby or should I peruse it further?  Why do I ask and stress over so many questions? 

I read about others who have the same issue. Then I write about my dilemma. When I sat down to write about anything today (at the last-minute) I had no clue what direction this was going to go in.  It has helped relieve some stress, brought me in to focus a little bit more, but it is short.  I’m finishing this up because I’ve got to go read other people’s blogs, which I have yet to do.  Once I’m done with that I’m going to set some realistic goals for my writing. 

What do you do to get over “writers block”? Or how do you generate new ideas for your blog?

25 thoughts on “Writing on demand

  1. It’s like someone asking you for the name of a third person – the question makes your mind blank. When my writing of long stuff lags, I try a flash fiction piece. The length and fixed topic help me focus and just write, and it doesn’t waste much time. My fall-back is Jack Daniels.

  2. Here’s an idea – look at something, anything, even if it’s your shoes. Describe it, write a poem about it. It can turn out to be an oracle.

  3. I personally do not stress out about writing, however, I keep a list of things I would like to write about it, and works for me perfect. I haven’t got to a point of not knowing what to write I guess because I’m a beginner blogguer. Thanks for Sharing !

  4. I think what you’re feeling is very normal, the pressure just turns your creative juices off. But, hey, you wrote a post all about not knowing what to write about, so you fixed your dilemma! I have often had writer’s block, usually exactly like you, when I HAVE to write, but so far it’s never lasted too long. I always have my camera (or at least my iPhone) on me to take pictures of things I think might inspire me at a later stage. It helps to have a stock of interesting images that can be turned into a post. How about a photo essay next time? Very few words, just pretty photos!

    1. Ha-ha thanks. Dilemma fixed. 🙂 I try to do photos once a week for my art blog. They’re usually from my phone. Been thinking about some I took of my cat. 😀 I hope I’m past this problem though. Everyone has such great ideas and has sparked little things in my head.

  5. 🙂 I don’t know what Writer’s Block is, Tracie! In fact, my problem is quite the opposite – the problem of abundance. Carrying a journal around is a great idea. I also find that my photography hobby proviides me fodder for posts all the time. I look forward to being NaNoWriMo buddies this year!

    1. Awesome! a new NaNo buddy. I’ve got a lot of notes for that already. And usually I don’t have this problem. It’s kind of like an essay question on a test at school where I draw a blank for a good 5 minutes before I get to it. I do have some TV show reviews to finish that are in draft status. Maybe this weekend’s activities will provide more blog fodder.

  6. My mind is always racing a mile a minute, so I’m generally thinking through blog posts over the course of a couple of days. I find immersing myself in things that I enjoy (in terms of content more than activities) always helps me come up with something. Then I take to the streets for a walk or sometimes to the tub for a hot bath to think specifics through…all before ever writing anything down. Staring at a blank page or screen can be daunting, so I prefer to do a lot of my work pre-page/screen.

    1. I’ve always got stuff going through my head. I thought of a great psa today but couldn’t write it down because I was driving. I like to get out and walk & watch. Taking photos too.

      1. I use the Voice Notes or Siri on my iPhone when I’m out and about. I can talk into them so I get to keep track of my thoughts without having to stop and write them down.

  7. Pressure and stress sometimes work to my advantage, but when it comes to a novel it’s the opposite. My brain shuts down and refuses to be awakened. Tricks? I usually take a break – in some way for however long I can afford to. Do something stress-free. Other than that I’ll try to talk it out with my husband to get my brain flowing again. Sorry, I don’t have anything real helpful. I’ll be right there with you in November for NaNoWriMo!! I did it this summer and it was hard. I think I’ll just stick to Nov. from now on.

    1. thanks Andrea. I’ll read your post about it. I don’t usually have deadlines. I tend to not get my self in situations that require deadlines. 🙂 However with this workshop & NaNo I’ll be posting once or twice a week on my blog between now and the end of November.

  8. I have a notebook that I write down some points or thoughts in first and it seems to help me write my post. I don’t always use all the thoughts in my writing but it helps get the ideas flowing. There have been times where I have had to step away and take a little break.

    1. I’ve had to step away before, usually it’s only about a week or so. At least one of my blogs gets a post every week. Usually they all get a post.
      I’ve also got ideas popping in for NaNoWriMo.

  9. I usually keep a list of things to write about as draft blog posts. When I have no idea what to write, I start developing that post from the main idea or the 2-3 points that I wrote.
    It really takes the pressure off writing on demand. Try it, you may like it too, Tracie 🙂

  10. Oh, Man, if I could tell you how many posts were written in my head that never made it to the screen? I need to keep better lists, or jot things down, for sure! I do have a bunch of drafts that need tweaking to be posted!

      1. That’s so annoying! It happens to me when I can’t sleep at 3am, I often have the best ideas which I think I’ll never forget and by morning they’re gone. I now have a pen and notepad by the bed for this eventuality!

Say What?

